Women Warriors

Tonight I had parent teacher conferences, the second one since the school year began. It was a mixture of virtual and in-person. I personally prefer families come in person. I enjoy showing them pieces of work their child has done and there is just something about being face to face that builds relationships.

Talking about building relationships, sometimes the conversation shifts from the child in my classroom to the family – exciting news, sad news, travel plans and more. I would say the theme of my conferences this school year has been careers.

Since beginning in my school district I’ve encountered many stay at home moms. Not to say that being a stay at home mom isn’t a difficult job, because it’s one I don’t think I could survive, but this year I’ve encountered mostly working mothers. Not only working mothers, but mothers who have excelled in their fields and have really kick-ass positions. I’m talking doctors, business owners, finance moguls, fashion designers and more. These women are the breadwinners of their household. It was inspiring to hear their stories.

I got in my car thinking “women warriors” and wondering if one day I can coin myself that phrase.

One response to “Women Warriors”

  1. I think teachers definitely earn the title.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started